Shaq gets a Statue

Brandon Bass sighting

Shaquille O’Neal has always been larger than life and now he has a statue that is larger than him. LSU, O’Neal’s alma mater, unveiled a 900-pound bronze statue of the “big fella” on Thursday located outside of their basketball practice facility. Of course the statue depicts O’Neal’s signature move from college: the dunk. (Who would want a statue of him taking free throws?) O’Neal played three seasons at LSU, averaging 22 points and 14 rebounds, before entering the NBA Draft in 1992 and being selected first overall by the Orlando Magic.

The Big Shaqtue

O’Neal retired from the NBA earlier this summer but has something on the horizon:

“I’ll always come back every first football game. A lot of people don’t know this
but hopefully I will graduate in December and become Dr. O’Neal.  I’ve been
working on that the last four years. I didn’t want to let a lot of people know
until I actually became a doctor. I’m working on my dissertation now and
hopefully I’ll be Doctor O’Neal. Unfortunately, I will no longer answer to
“Shaq.”  You will have to call me Dr. O’Neal.”

Dr. Shaq sounds better, don’t you think?

Leave a comment

Filed under NBA at Large, Players

Leave a Reply

