Blake Griffin named NBA Rookie of the Year

Slam dunk

Blake Griffin receiving this award was just as inevitable as Derrick Rose being named the MVP. All that was really left was the prerequisite ceremony. Griffin is the first unanimous Rookie of the Year since David Robinson during the 1989-90 season garnering all 118 first place votes for 590 points.

This is not surprising since Griffin, the Los Angeles Clippers’ power forward, averaged 22.5 points, 12.1 rebounds, 3.8 assists (the only player in the league to average these numbers), shot 50.6 percent from the floor, and averaged 8.5 free throw attempts per game. He also had 63 double-doubles on the season. The numbers are remarkable but pale in comparison to his high-flying acrobatics and thunderous dunks. He was the slam dunk champion, after all.

Rounding out those who also received votes were John Wall, DeMarcus Cousins, Landry Fields, Gary Neal, and Greg Monroe.

Leave a comment

Filed under 2010-11 Awards

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s